Intro to Āyurveda – Module 1, Part 1

Intro to Āyurveda – Module 1, Part 1

Module 1: Essence of Āyurveda

Part 1: History


˜1500 BCE. The 8 Branches of Āyurveda:

  1. Kāyachikitsā – General/Internal Medicine
    1. Prevention, etiology, prognosis and management of disease (KA)
  2. Śalyatantra – Surgery
    1. Various surgeries are described. The first plastic surgery was described in the Suśruta Saṃhitā
  3. Śālākyatantra – ENT & Opthal (Eye)
    1. The Ayurvedic branch of Ophthalmology and Otorhinolaryngiology – diseases of eye, ear, nose and throat
  4. Agadatantra – Toxicology
    1. This branch deals with the toxicity and purification of herbs as well as mineral and animal products
  5. Bhūtavidyā – Psychiatry
    1. Āyurveda is equally concerned with mental diseases and their treatment. Treatment methods include not only diet and herbs, but also yogic methods for improving the state of mind. There is ample material for research on this branch in the Atharva Veda and other Āyurveda chapters.
  6. Kaumārabhtya & Prasūti – Pediatrics & Gynecology
    1. Deals with prenatal and postnatal baby care and with the care of the mother before conception and during pregnancy. Various childhood diseases and treatments come under this branch.
  7. Rasāyana – Rejuvenation / Promotive Therapy (Geriatrics acc. to Dhanvantari)
    1. This therapy is used to prevent disease and promote healthy living
  8. Vājīkaraa – Fertility & Sex (Aphrodisiacs)
    1. This branch deals with the means of increasing sexual vitality and efficiency. For achieving healthy and intelligent progeny, the therapy of Rasāyana and Vājikaanaare closely interrelated. Vājikarana medicines also act as rejuvenatives

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *